Ask a Car Wreck Injury Attorney: Four Things to Know About Texas Car Accident Laws
If you've been in a car accident and you are trying to secure fair compensation for your damages, you may want to seek the advice of a car wreck injury attorney in San Antonio. Getting the compensation you deserve for your injuries can be difficult without the help of legal counsel. Here are a few things you should know about car accident laws that may be relevant to your case.Image Source
Ask a Car Wreck Injury Attorney in San Antonio: Four Things to Know About Texas Car Accident Laws
1. You Have a Time Limit
In Texas, you have up to two years after a car accident to settle a claim with an insurance company or file a lawsuit for compensation for the accident. Ideally, your insurance company and the insurance company for the other driver will be able to agree on the settlement for the accident. During this time period, the insurance company for the other driver may encourage you to sign a settlement, but it's best to have the settlement offer reviewed by a lawyer first to determine whether or not the offer is satisfactory.
2. You Should Call the Police After an Accident
No matter how serious your accident, it's always a good idea to contact the police after an accident. For one thing, filing an insurance claim for an accident will likely require evidence for the insurance company, so a police report of the accident will have important information you may need later. For another thing, there are certain circumstances when it is mandatory to call the police to report an accident, such as:
- Serious injuries or fatalities
- Multiple cars involved in accidents
- Vehicles can't be moved or block traffic
- Suspected intoxication
- Driver without insurance
- Driver leaves the scene
In any of these situations, it's important to have the police on the scene to take evidence and file a report. A police report will be necessary if your case graduates to trial, as this may be integral in proving who is liable for the accident. A car wreck injury attorney in San Antonio can give you more information about how police reports can be helpful for your case.
3. DUIs Have Heavy Fines
Driving under the influence or while legally intoxicated is a common cause for many car accidents and the laws about DUIs are harsh in Texas. According to Texas law, legal intoxication is a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08%, but it is still considered illegal regardless of your level of intoxication. First-time offenses have fines of up to $2,000, 180 days in jail, and loss of license for a year. Your charges will also incur a state fine that you will have to pay after sentencing.
4. You Must Have Insurance
Texas drivers are legally obligated to have liability coverage as part of their auto insurance plans. Liability coverage is designed to cover damages for the other driver. If you are found driving without proof of insurance, you will be fined up to $300 for a first-time offense. Without liability insurance, you may have to cover the costs of the damages.
Texas laws for car accidents are strict regarding how drivers can file claims and the types of fines negligent drivers can incur after an accident. If you aren't sure what to do after a wreck, contacting a lawyer will give you the guidance you need to make a successful claim.